Most Successful FIFA Club World Cup Managers

Spanish and Brazilian football managers achieved the highest rate of success in the FIFA Club World Cup till now. Managers from both the nations have three consecutive final appearances in the tournament’s all-time history. Spanish coach Rafael Benítez was the first manager to take a foreign team to the final of the FIFA Club World Cup as his team Liverpool went to the final in 2005 edition but defeated by the Brazilian side São Paulo. He again did the same while helping Italian side Inter Milan to win the 2010 edition and English side Chelsea to become the runners-up of the 2012 FIFA Club World Cup.

Besides Rafa Benítez, three other managers Frank Rijkaard, Faouzi Benzarti, and Lamine N’Diaye achieved the same feat in this prestigious tournament. Spanish manager Pep Guardiola became the first manager to take the same team to the final of the FIFA Club World Cup twice. He helped Barcelona to reach the final and win the Club World Cup in 2009 and then again in 2011. And, here goes the most successful football managers in the FIFA Club World Cup history:

Pep Guardiola

Most Successful FIFA Club World Cup Managers | Top 10 Table

Rank Manager Nationality Champions Runners-Up Winning Years Runners-Up Years
1 Pep Guardiola Spain 3 0 2009, 2011, 2013
2 Carlo Ancelotti Italy 2 0 2007, 2014
3 Zinedine Zidane France 2 0 2016, 2017
4 Rafael Benítez Spain 1 2 2010 2005, 2012
5 Oswaldo de Oliveira Brazil 1 0 2000
6 Paulo Autuori Brazil 1 0 2005
7 Abel Braga Brazil 1 0 2006
8 Sir Alex Ferguson Scotland 1 0 2008
9 Tite Brazil 1 0 2012
10 Luis Enrique Spain 1 0 2015

Spanish manager Pep Guardiola is the only manager to win the FIFA Club World Cup thrice till now. He achieved the cup twice with Barcelona in 2009 and 2011. He then again achieved the cup with German side Bayern Munich in 2013. Besides Guardiola, Rafael Benítez also holds the record for appearing in the final for the most number of times. Liverpool became the runners-up under his guidance in 2005, Inter Milan became the champions in 2010, and then Chelsea became the runners-up under his coaching in 2012. And now, here goes the year-by-year details of the successful managers of FIFA Club World Cup Finals:

Carlo Ancelotti

FIFA Club World Cup Final managers | Year by year

Edition Winning Manager Winning Club Runners-Up Manager Runners-Up Club
2000 Oswaldo de Oliveira Corinthians Antônio Lopes Vasco da Gama
2005 Paulo Autuori São Paulo Rafael Benítez Liverpool
2006 Abel Braga Internacional Frank Rijkaard Barcelona
2007 Carlo Ancelotti AC Milan Miguel Ángel Russo Boca Juniors
2008 Sir Alex Ferguson Manchester United Edgardo Bauza LDU Quito
2009 Pep Guardiola Barcelona Alejandro Sabella Estudiantes
2010 Rafael Benítez Inter Milan Lamine N’Diaye TP Mazembe
2011 Pep Guardiola Barcelona Muricy Ramalho Santos
2012 Tite Corinthians Rafael Benítez Chelsea
2013 Pep Guardiola Bayern Munich Faouzi Benzarti Raja Casablanca
2014 Carlo Ancelotti Real Madrid Edgardo Bauza San Lorenzo
2015 Luis Enrique Barcelona Marcelo Gallardo River Plate
2016 Zinedine Zidane Real Madrid Masatada Ishii Kashima Antlers
2017 Zinedine Zidane Real Madrid Renato Gaúcho Grêmio